Skip navigation

bulldog-09-97The Bulldog more than lived up to its billing with great battles at the front. For us this was primarily a historic rally which saw Nick Elliott & Dave Price dominate the field, with only Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey able to keep them honest. The next nearest contenders were over a minute and a half back with Seamus O’Connell & Dai Roberts making it an Escort MkII 1-2-3. 

In the Post Historics David Higgins & Ieuan Thomas took victory from Rupert Lomax & David Alcock by fifteen seconds. Behind the two Escort MkI’s and beating the Porsches was Jeremy Easson & Alun Cook in the Ford Capri. In the Historics the top three were Ford free, with Jonathan & Graham Gale taking their recently acquired Sunbeam Tiger to 1st place, with Stuart Rolt & Richard Pomfret second in their Porsche 911. Graham Waite & Gill Cotton completed the podium in their Volvo Amazon.

On to the other events and the BRC which saw the Evo IX of Keith Cronin & Greg Shinnors beat the Impreza N11 ofthree times champion Mark Higgins & Bryan Thomas by a slender 9 seconds. Stuart Jones & Andy Bull were a distant third after an eventful day in their Evo IX. In the Challenge rally Matt Edwards & Andy Murphy won comfortably by almost three minutes in their Fiesta ST and in the Clubman rally Michael O’Brien & Ian Allsop took their Focus WRC to victory, with the Escort Cosworth Ian Joel & Graeme Wood just beating the Impreza WRC of James Belton & Eurig Evans by just four tenths of a second.

And finally after all of the stills here is a compilation video dominated by the Historic field, (apologies for some of the ghosting on the clips as it was rather wet at times on the Aberhirnant stage!) –

%d bloggers like this: