Skip navigation

Plains 09 (3)A mixed day weather wise greeted the crews tackling the Plains, this year. The top three were set for a titantic battle and going in to the Gartheiniog stages they were separated by a few seconds. The Peugeot Cosworth of Andy Burton then blitzed Will Nicholls (Impreza WRC) and Hugh Hunter (Focus WRC) on stage 3 and extended his lead each subsequent stage, until stage 6. Gearbox gremlins crept in which saw Burton slip to third after stage 6 and ultimately retire on stage 8. Nicholls inherited the lead but dropped 15 seconds on stage 8 to Hunter. Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank took a close fought victory to register their first win in the 2009 BTRDA season. Wills Nicholls & Nick Broom scored solid points with second, with David Wright & Michael Wilkinson were an excellent third on their first attempt at this rally.

In the two wheel drive category it was a battle royale between two unregistered crews. Nick Elliott & Dave Price came out on top by just under 20 seconds from an ever impressive Joe Price & Chris Brooks. Just over a minute back, but taking top BTRDA Silver Star points, were Henri Grehan & Chris Ridge making it a Escort MkII 1-2-3. In the 1400’s it was all about the top five seeds, with just over 40 seconds covering them at the end. Graham Middleton & Shaun O’Gorman (Ignis) took the eventual victory after playing catch up after a slow start to the event. Martyn & Richard Lewis took their Nova to second place after leading early on and dropping back to third at one point. Completing the 1400 podium in third place were Darren Pinchin & Karen Watts, after leading on stage 5.

And as usual a compilation video of our favourite bits from this event, (they keep getting longer!) –

%d bloggers like this: