Skip navigation

jimclark09 (12)A superb weekend up in the Scottish Borders saw a battle royale between Eugene Donnelly and Tim McNulty. The Fabia WRC of Donnelly & Paddy Toner eventually came out on top with the Impreza WRC S12B of McNulty & David Moynihan 23 seconds behind. Eamonn Boland & Michael Jo Morrissey completed the podium in their Impreza WRC S12B.  In the BRC Mark Higgins & Bryan Thomas (Impreza N11) held off the hard charging Evo IX of Keith Cronin & Greg Shinnors, with both crews suffering numerous issues throughout the event. Completing that podium was the Impreza N14 of Adam Gould & Seb Marshall after a good battle with the Impreza N12 of Euan Thorburn & Claire Mole. In the rest of the classes Matti Rantanen & Mikko Markkula took R3 class honours in their Clio Ragnotti, Martin McCormack & Phil Clarke were victorious in the R2 class in their C2 R2 Max and finally the R1 class went to the Swift of Gordon Nichol and Emma Morrison.

In the Challenge event the Escort MkII of Mike Horne & Robbie Mitchell took a comfortable victory by over two minutes. Richard Archer & Thomas Ward took second place and top BRC challenge points in their 1600cc Corsa just some 15 seconds ahead of the 1400cc Nova of Julian Wilkes & Will Rutherford. In the National rally Melvyn Evans & Sean Mullally took a comfortable victory in their Impreza WRC S11. Second place went to the older Impreza WRC of David Mann & Alun Cook with Simon Mauger & Brian Cammack a superb third in their stunning Escort MkII. The Land Rover rally was won by Ewan Christie & James Dempsey.

A new event for the Jim Clark was the Historic Rally and whilst the entry was small the battle for victory was no less intense. Steve Magson & Geoff Atkinson were the winners by just under a minute in their Ascona 400. The much fancied Escort MkII of Charlie Taylor & Steve Bielby were second with the Escort MkI of Bob Bean & Malcolm Smithson a fine third.  In the Reivers the Scottish championship saw it’s 4th different winner in as many rounds with the victory of David Bogie & Kevin Rae (Evo IX). Euan Thorburn & Claire Mole were second in their Imprzea N12 with William Bonniwell & Dave Robson completing the podium, in their Impreza.

Well done for persevering this far and here is your reward, our best compilation clip to date, from 8 different stage locations and a chance to see the Irish crews peddle their WRC machinery –

%d bloggers like this: