Skip navigation

Daily Archives: June 13th, 2009

Dukeries 09 (1)Another dusty Dukeries but would it be the same if it wasn’t?! At the head of the field the rally was one of attrition as early leaders Will Nicholls & Nick Broom (Impreza WRC) retired on stage 2 and on stage 4 the new leaders Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) were on fire as they passed our position. Thankfully they stopped just up the stage to extinguish a small oil fire, the tell tale sign of transmission woes. Andy Burton & Shelley Rogerson (Peugeot Cosworth) would have inherited the lead had they not retired with a blown front diff, a junction further on in stage 4!

So Damian Cole & Tim Sturla lead at the halfway point, in their Accent WRC. But Steve Perez & Sam Collis pushed on in the afternoon, to take their Focus WRC to a 21 second victory over Cole. Six seconds back in third were Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Lancer WRC), edging out Dave Wright & Michael Wilkinson (Evo IX). Wright had been 2nd after stage 4 but wild with it. Still he now heads the Gold Star championship thanks to this result. Read More »