Skip navigation

Dukeries 09 (1)Another dusty Dukeries but would it be the same if it wasn’t?! At the head of the field the rally was one of attrition as early leaders Will Nicholls & Nick Broom (Impreza WRC) retired on stage 2 and on stage 4 the new leaders Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) were on fire as they passed our position. Thankfully they stopped just up the stage to extinguish a small oil fire, the tell tale sign of transmission woes. Andy Burton & Shelley Rogerson (Peugeot Cosworth) would have inherited the lead had they not retired with a blown front diff, a junction further on in stage 4!

So Damian Cole & Tim Sturla lead at the halfway point, in their Accent WRC. But Steve Perez & Sam Collis pushed on in the afternoon, to take their Focus WRC to a 21 second victory over Cole. Six seconds back in third were Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Lancer WRC), edging out Dave Wright & Michael Wilkinson (Evo IX). Wright had been 2nd after stage 4 but wild with it. Still he now heads the Gold Star championship thanks to this result.

In the Silver Star it was a little less fraught with Will Onions & Tim Hobbs taking victory by just under half a minute. In second place were Mick Jones & Dale Furniss, making it an Escort MkII 1-2. Third, in their Opel Manta, were Jon Ballinger & Alistair Douglas over a minute further back.

In the 1400’s the top ten saw carnage much like in the main field with Graham Middleton & Ella Flynn out with an engine fire in their Ignis on stage 2 and the leaders Darren Pinchin & Karen Watts (Satria) retired on the penulimate stage, with a broken engine mount and radiator. In fact only one of the top 7 seeded crews made it to the the finish. They were Justin Lawson & Paul Hargreaves (Nova) who ended up taking victory by almost a minute. The battle for second place was a tighter affair with Brian McGuiness & Ian Harden taking 2nd by just three seconds from the similar Corsa of Clive Anstey & Pamela Hilton.

And finally in the Historics it was a half minute victory for the Escort MkII of Jason Lepley & John McNichol. 2nd and 3rd place were separated by just one second with Richard Lane & Frank Richer (Escort MkII) making up an 8 second deficit on the final stage to move ahead of Chris White and Chris Dewsnap (Escort MkII).

And here is our video compilation, where we managed to get round to 3 stages on a BTRDA event! –

%d bloggers like this: