Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: September 2009

Trackrod09 (117)A glorious day was what North Yorkshire delivered for this years Trackrod Rally, where the culmination of several championships would make it a decisive event. In the Historic Cup the overall victory was played out by the Escort MkII’s. It was the controlled but fast pace of Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey that took a 35 second victory from the flambuoyant Martin McCormack & Jim Goodman, who won on the entertainment stakes. Completing the podium, and wrapping up the Classic category, were Darren Moon & Chris Parsons. Behind them though was a great non-Ford battle for 4th place. In the end Steve Magson & Geoff Atkinson (Ascona 400) pipped Rob Smith & Shaun O’Gorman (Chevette) by less than a second. Read More »


LMS Silverstone09 (18)So not quite as dramatic as last year but the battle for victory was more intense than in 2008, with the lead changing 5 times in the last hour of racing. In the end it was Nicolas Lapierre who steered home the LMP1 Oreca Matmut to victory, whilst his team mate Olivier Panis celebrated an excellent victory from the pit wall. Close behind were a total of three LMP1 Aston Martin’s who all finished on the same lap as the Oreca, however it was the Speedy Racing car of Andrea Belicchi/Marcel Fassler/Nicolas Prost which took second place ahead of the factory car of Jan Charouz/Tomas Enge/Stefan Mucke. Third was more than enough to seal the 2009 LMS championship for the Prodrive crew. Read More »

Woodpecker 09 (4)It all turned out well on this years Woodpecker as the Gravel championship joined the BTRDA series for the first time in a long time. With Haye Park running twice and the ANCRO crews using it a third time we buried ourselves in their for the day. Overall the National event was won comfortably by Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) after the main challenge of Roger Duckworth & Mark Broomfield (Impreza WRC) subsided following a stage maximum on one of the runs through Radnor. 2nd went to Nik Elsmore & Craig Drew after an impressive run in their Evo IX. Completing the podium were Alan Cookson & Julian Wilkinson giving ‘Daisy’, the cow liveried Impreza WRC, a good final result before being sold. In the BTRDA, or the clubmans event, top spot went to Will Nicholls & Nick Broom (Impreza WRC). If the total times of the National field are included then Nicholls would have been leading Perez by 9 seconds, at this stage. Read More »