Skip navigation

Trackrod09 (117)A glorious day was what North Yorkshire delivered for this years Trackrod Rally, where the culmination of several championships would make it a decisive event. In the Historic Cup the overall victory was played out by the Escort MkII’s. It was the controlled but fast pace of Julian Reynolds & Ian Oakey that took a 35 second victory from the flambuoyant Martin McCormack & Jim Goodman, who won on the entertainment stakes. Completing the podium, and wrapping up the Classic category, were Darren Moon & Chris Parsons. Behind them though was a great non-Ford battle for 4th place. In the end Steve Magson & Geoff Atkinson (Ascona 400) pipped Rob Smith & Shaun O’Gorman (Chevette) by less than a second.

In the Post Historics David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) had to take victory to stand any chance of taking the overall title. They were on this occasion second best to the Belgian pairing of Stefaan Stouf & Joris Erard who took a much deserved 1st win after competing in the UK for a few years now. Completing the Escort MkI top three were Rupert Lomax & David Allcock. In the Historic section Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride did what they needed to do in their Porsche 911, taking the class and overall championship title. Paul Mankin & Desmond Bell ran them close in their Lotus Cortina but the 2004 BHRC champions can now add the 2009 title to their list of honours. Completing the podium was the Mini Cooper S of Terry Cree & Richard Shores.

There was also the small matter of the British Championship to be decided and when Mark Higgins & Bryan Thomas (Impreza) retired on the last stage Keith Cronin & Greg Shinnors (Lancer Evo IX) could almost cruise to the title. Cronin had been leading Higgins since stage 1 and after an early challenge from Gwyndaf Evans & Chris Patterson (Lancer Evo X) disappeared on stage 6 with a puncture they were clear to take victory and the title. Stuart Jones & Andy Bull made a good return to the BRC taking second in their Lancer Evo X, and they were running ahead of Higgins too. Completing the podium on the final stage were Jonatahn Greer & Kirsty Riddick (Lancer Evo IX).

In the classes Luke Pinder & Peter Scott were the top 2WD crew also taking the Suzuki Swift Championship in the process, whilst Jason Pritchard & Andrew Edwards (C2R2 Max) took the larger engined Rally 2 category win. In the BRC Challenge it was the Fiesta ST of John Boyd & Fred Bell that took victory from the similar car of John Barrable & Damien Connolly with the Astra of Chris Peart & Jamie Forrest third. The title though was taken by Neil Matthews & John Connor (Nova).

The National rally, which was the final round of the Gravel championship, saw Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Lancer WRC) victorious from Alan Cookson & Julian Wilkinson (Impreza WRC). Completing the podium were Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Lancer Evo IX). In the Clubman’s Trophy the top five places were all taken by Impreza’s. Jim McNeil & Mike Scrimgour took top honours from Jeff McNeil & Fred Roberts with Keith Turner & Steve Ward third. And finally in the Land Rover Challenege it was an easy victory for the Discovery of Andrew Glover & Catriona Ratter from the Wolf XD pairings of Ewen Christie & James Dempsey second and Stephen Partridge & Adam Entwistle third.

Our compilation video from a stunningly dry and warm rally –

%d bloggers like this: