Skip navigation

Another BTRDA round and another Andrew Burton and Steve Perez clash! It was effectively over on stage 1 though as Perez, co-driven by Paul Spooner in the Focus WRC, made a bad tyre choice and a superb drive from Burton, co-driven by Robin Kellard in the Peugeot Cosworth, saw the Herefordhsire farmer take 21 seconds out of his rival. The final victory margin was 25 seconds as Burton and Perez continued to exchange fastest stage times throughout the rest of the event, but the damage was done on stage 1. Mirroring the result from the Somerset Stages, the final podium place went to David Wright & Michael Wilkinson (Evo IX) a minute further back.

In the 2WD section there was only really one crew in the hunt, Ieuan Rowlands & Emyr Hall. The Volvo engined Escort MkII crew finished 9th overall and over two minutes ahead of their nearest rivals. In 2nd place for the 2nd BTRDA event in a row were Peter Elkins & Andrew Joll (Escort MkII) with the podium being completed by Dylan Davies & Dale Furniss (Escort MkI). Championship wise it was Elkins who took victory from the Kadett of Allan McDowall & Gavin Heseltine with the Manta of Jon Ballinger & Reg Davies 3rd.

The 1400’s saw Matt Edwards & Sam Collis (MG ZR) denied a certain victory with a broken driveshaft on the final stage. Team mates Callum Black & Paul Wakely (MG ZR) would have picked up the pieces but they too suffered a driveshaft failure on the final stage. With championship leaders Darren Pinchin & Karen Watts (Satria) crashing out on stage 4, the top 3 had a different set of crews making up the places. Martyn & Richard Lewis (Nova) took victory after numerous issues in the earlier rounds of the championship. Justin Lawson & Paul Hargreaves (Nova) were 2nd over a minute back with Dave Bennett & Alastair McNeil (Corsa) in 3rd place.

And the video will be here sometime…

%d bloggers like this: