Skip navigation

Another glorious day in mid Wales for dust and midges on the Severn Valley Rally. Whilst the field may have been small in the National rally there was an intense battle for the top spot with Jonny Milner & Ian Windress (Corolla WRC) just beating Roger Duckworth & Mark Broomfield (Impreza WRC) by just over ten seconds, after they exchanged fastest stage times throughout the event. 3rd place was keenly fought too as going into the final pair of stages Tom Cave & Ieuan Thomas (Satris Neo S2000) held third from Stephen Petch & John Richardson (Accent WRC) with Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) close behind in 5th. On the penultimate stage Petch snatched 3rd place from Cave with Payne closing in also, then on the final test Payne grabbed the final podium spot by just over a second leaving Petch 4th and Cave a highly creditable 5th in only his 2nd event in the S2000 car against WR cars.

The Clubman rally saw a comfortable win for Phil Newson & Peter James (Evo IX). It had been a close run thing but for a final stage indiscretion by Dave Brick & Rob Woodhouse (Impreza) saw them lose over 40 seconds after they had only been just over 6 seconds behind Newson going into the final stage. Brick held 2nd spot with Mike Tomkinson & Shaun Whitehurts (Imprzea WRC) a fine 3rd just over 5 seconds back. Our shock of the event though came on stage 4 when our normal vantage point saw the high speed departure of Martin Collins & Stephen O’Neill (Evo VIII) when a misheard note saw the crew fly off the road into a culvert. With the medical teams quickly on the scene Collins was whisked away professionally and efficently to check the extent of his injuries. We wish both of the crew a speedy recovery.

In the Historic rally Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) dominated the event with consistently fast times following the re-build of their car following the heavy shunt on the Pirelli back in April. Ryan Barrett & Barry Ferris (Escort MkII) took a stage win on their way to 2nd overall but only just. David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) flew through the final stage in Radnor taking over half a minute out of everyone else. They ended up 3rd overall and top post Historic crew, just a second behind Barrett overall. Rounding off the Classics first it was Pirelli winners Will Onions & Dave Williams (Escort MkII) who completed the podium. In the post Historics Jeremy Easson & Alun Cook were 2nd to Stokes with Tim Jones & Don James completing the Escort MkI top three. In the Historic section Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride (911) took victory by 47 seconds. Jonathan Gale & James Whitaker (Tiger) were 2nd losing most of the time on the final stage in Radnor. Dave Reynolds & Paul Heath (Amazon) completed the podium in a distant 3rd place.

Video one day…

%d bloggers like this: