Skip navigation

Our first visit to Sweet Lamb in 2010 saw us take in the Mid Wales Stages. It was bit of a stop start affair with numerous accidents on stage 1 resulting in many crews taking a notional time. Most dramatic was the excursion of Will Onions & Dave Williams (Escort MkII) who did fly through the 300m warning board in the flying finish, retiring as a result of the damage on landing. Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) had decided caution was the best approach before seeing Onions off from the stop line and they duly cruised to a comfortable victory, banishing the memories of their accident on the 2009 event. Behind them Gareth Lloyd & Ryland James (Escort MkII) took 2nd overall as they continued their comeback after taking time out in 2008 and 2009. Third were Rob Smith & Shaun O’Gorman (Chevette) with Classic cars once again completing the podium.

In the post Historics Jeremy Easson & Alun Cook headed the all Ford Escort MkI podium. David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) retired early on in what is turning out to be a torrid 2010 which took the pressure off Easson who duly took victory by over a minute. Tim Jones & Don James were a solid second place with Andrew Siddall and Captain Thompson just 7 seconds back in third.

The Historics Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride (911) took back to back victories. The familiar battle with the Tiger of Jonathan Gale & James Whitaker dying when they retired on stage 3. In the end it was Pirelli winners Graham Waite & Gill Cotton (Amazon) who were 2nd, just under half a minute back with Dave Reynolds & Cliff Doe (Amazon) 3rd.

Matt Edwards & Sam Collis (Impreza N12) relished running first on the road and went on to dominate the Clubman rally, taking victory by almost 3 minutes. Neville Jones & Ian Capewell (Impreza) were 2nd with Peter Egerton & Jamie Edwards (Accent WRC) 3rd some 15 seconds behind.

Video one day, one day..!

%d bloggers like this: