Skip navigation

The BTRDA championship made its annual visit to the Epynt ranges for the Quinton Stages. The rally has not always enjoyed the type of weather you would expect with being held in July and 2010 was an overcast and showery affair. At the head of the field Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) took a commanding victory, taking the lead of the BTRDA championship in the process. Andy Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) had been leading up until the end of stage 3 but Perez pushed through on stage 4 before Burton’s engine expired at the end of stage 5. James Belton & Eurig Evans (Impreza WRC) were second with Patrick Naylor & Ian Lawrence (Evo IX) a fine 3rd overall and 1st in group N.

We would normally move on to the Silver Star crews next but the top 1400 crew were actually the top two 2WD crews! Matt Edwards & Sam Collis (MG ZR) took the 1400 championship lead with their 2nd consecutive win in the category. Just over 20 seconds behind was the 2005 1400 champion George Thomas, co-driven by Mark Ammonds, in his trusty Nova making a welcome return to the series.  Completing the podium were Darren Pinchin & Karen Watts (Satria) who now need to win the final two rounds to deny Edwards the title.

In the Silver Star the top finishers were Julien Fouques & Jamie Edwards in the Saxo T4, (which is 4WD but somehow is in the B10 class?!). Behind them it was Boyd Kershaw & Bryan Hull (Escort MkII) with Jon Ballinger & Gordon Davies (Manta) third. There was also a Historic rally which was comfortably by Neal James & Kevin Jones (Escort MkI).

Rally video one day!

%d bloggers like this: