Skip navigation

A mixed day made the first two loops of stages a tyre lottery over the Epynt military ranges on this years Harry Flatters rally. Damien Cole & Craig Drew (Focus WRC) were fastest out of the blocks and were fastest on the first six stages to lead by 14.5 seconds from a hard charging Peter Lloyd & Graham Handley (Impreza WRC S14). On stage 7, the final stage of loop 3, Lloyd set the fastest time shaving almost 3 seconds off Cole’s lead meaning it was game on for the final two stages. Meanwhile back in 3rd were John Indri & Dave Engwell (Darrian T90 GTR) just holding at bay Eian Pritchard & Martin Jones who were getting used to their newly acquired Impreza WRC S11.

On the penultimate stage Lloyd went fastest again by almost 9 seconds, cutting the lead down to 1.8 seconds. With a repeat of stage 8 to go on the final stage Cole pulled one last fastest stage time out the bag to take the win by just 3.2 seconds. Meanwhile, back in the battle for 3rd place, Pritchard started to get to grips with his new car and moved past Indri on stage 8 and cemented the final podium spot on the final stage. Indri had the honour of top 2WD crew with a performance that matched his past exploits over Epynt in his Metro 6R4.

In the Historics the field may have been smaller not being part of the main BHCR championship, but being round 2 of the Waterend BHRC Asphalt Cup ensured there was still quality in the field. David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) took the first stage in treacherous conditions before Mark Solloway & Den Golding (Escort MkII) set fastest times on all 3 stages in loop 2 to have a convincing lead. Stokes struck back on stages 5 & 6 but Solloway took the longer stage 7 to cancel out any time gained before the lunch break. Solloway then powered through stage 8 and was 2nd fastest on stage 9 to win by almost 50 seconds, taking the Classic honours too. Stokes took post Historic honours and 2nd overall with Toby Adam & Richard Burton (Escort MkI) 3rd overall, setting fastest stage time on stage 9. Rikki Proffitt & Peter Scott (Porsche 911) were the class of the Historic field, winning by over 4 minutes.

Video, well who knows eh?!

%d bloggers like this: