Skip navigation

Carlos Sainz Junior and Oliver Rowland have become the latest drivers to add their names to the 2010 Michelin Formula Renault UK Winter Series ahead of the opening rounds at Norfolk’s Snetterton circuit on November 6th.

Sixteen-year-old Spaniard Sainz, son of former World Rally Champion Carlos, will race with Eurocup team Koiranen Bros Motorsport having already impressed behind the wheel of the single-seater machine during this year’s World Series by Renault.

Meanwhile 18-year-old Rowland (Sheffield) joins Andrew Kirkaldy’sCRS Racing team partnering Robert Foster-Jones (Southend on Sea). Rowland is also one of two drivers competing in the series that are backed by the Racing Steps Foundation along with fellow newcomer Dan Wells. Salisbury racer Wells, 19, will contest the six-race mini-series with Fortec Motorsport with the two drivers each vying to be backed by the RSF for a full campaign of the 2011 Michelin Formula Renault UK Championship.

Further entries have also been received from Russian Daniil Kyvat, 16, who completes a four-car charge for Koiranen Bros Motorsport together with Sainz, Antti Rammo (EST) and John Bayner-Meisner (SWE).

Up and coming racer Luke Wright (Shaftesbury), 18, also adds his name to the entry list making the step up from the Protyre BARC championship to compete in the UK class with Mark Godwin’s new outfit MGR Motorsport.

Hillspeed have also announced one of their two signings with 17-year-old Glaswegian David Wagner leading the charge for Richard Ollerenshaw’s Derbyshire-based squad.

Commenting on the announcement Championship Promoter Simon North said: “The standard of entries to date has been extremely high with some very talented youngsters looking to make their mark ahead of the 2011 season. We’re still expecting further entries over the coming days but it’s already shaping up to be a very competitive series.”

2010 Michelin Formula Renault UK Winter Series – Entry list (to date):

Ollie Millroy                 GBR    Manor Competition
Alice Powell                GBR    Manor Competition
Jordan King                 GBR    Manor Competition
Josh Hill                      GBR    Manor Competition
Carlos Sainz Jnr         SPA     Koiranen Bros Motorsport
Antti Rammo               EST     Koiranen Bros Motorsport
John Bryant-Meisner  SWE    Koiranen Bros Motorsport
Daniil Kvyat                 RUS    Koiranen Bros Motorsport
Mitchell Gilbert            AUS    Fortec Motorsport
Alex Lynn                    GBR    Fortec Motorsport
Dan Wells                    GBR    Fortec Motorsport
Robert Foster-Jones   GBR    CRS Racing
Oliver Rowland           GBR    CRS Racing
Luke Wright                 GBR    MGR Motorsport

BARC cars:

Mackenzie Taylor       GBR    SWB Motorsport (BARC)
David Wagner             GBR    Hillspeed (BARC)

%d bloggers like this: