Skip navigation

The BTRDA championship moved into the 2nd half of the season with the Dukeries Rally as it welcomed back 2010 Gold Star Champions Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC). Looking to emulate the great Roger Clark, Perez was attempting to be only the 2nd driver to take a hat trick of consecutive wins and be the first driver to record 4 wins on the event. This would prove to be no mean feat with a quality field assembled behind him. It was Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard (Peugeot Cosworth) who struck first to lead after stage 1 and with the top 6 crews beating the bogey on stage 2 nothing changed. Burton then continued to extend his lead second by second, but with 4 stages where the bogey was beaten the rally was a case of what if for the other crews.

Nonetheless Burton came out on top in the end by 24 seconds from Perez who had been in a titanic battle with Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) who had taken 2nd place on stage 3 only to surrender it back to Perez on the penultimate stage. On the final stage Payne had gone fastest but it would count for nought as the top 5 all beat the bogey in Portland for the 2nd time. In the end Payne was 3rd on a tie break from Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza WRC).

In the 2WD category it was a surprise win fro Kenny Brack & Emil Axelssan (Escort MkII) as they won by 10 seconds and were the first Historic crew home to boot, this was all in spite of a costly spin in front of our position on the first stage after service. Allan MacDowall & Gavin Heseltine (Kadett) were 2nd taking top Silver Star points with Boyd Kershaw & Bryan Hull (Escort MkII) almost half a minute further back. In the Historics 2nd place went to Warren Philliskirk & Matthew Whattam (Escort MkII) with Terry Brown & Tomos Whittle (Escort MkII) third. The final podium spot in the 2wD field went too Peter Beer & Andy Bull (Escort MkII).

First field home were the 1400’s and they had the tightest battle of all with just 8 seconds covering the top three. It was a case of what if for Darren Pinchin & Karen Watts (Satria) as a series of incidents saw them come home third, failing to maximise on the retirement of Justin Lawson. So keeping their heads were Brian McGuinness & Ian Harden (Corsa) to win by just 3 seconds from Kieran & Lyndsey Darrington (Corsa) who achieved their best result to date in the 1400’s after only stepping up to the top class at the start of 2010.

Video eventually…

%d bloggers like this: