Skip navigation

One year on from Damien Cole’s victory he was looking to make win no.2 of the season in his Focus WRC and with variable weather conditions few would bet against him. However it was the Escort MkII of Simon Mauger & Brian Cammack who defied their power and technology deficit to the WRC machinery around them to take a well deserved win. It was only by 7 seconds as late dramas saw Cole close in, co-driven by James Morgan, but Mauger held on. Completing the podium were previous winners Eian Pritchard & Steve McPhee (Impreza WRC S11) over a minute further back.

The rally saw a high rate of attrition and it proved to be an event where if you got to the finish you could get a good result. Special mentions must go to Paul Evans & Lol Powell (Escort MkII) who were an excellent 4th overall, Andy Baker & Martine Torode (205) won the B11 class in 7th overall, Matt Beebe & Martin Dee (MG ZR) who were 8th overall, won the N3 class and were the first group N crew home and lastly Scott Faulkner & Steven Brown (Clio Sport) who were second in class B11 and 10th overall, netting their first trophies as a team after enduring many promising runs but not making the finish.

Video one day…

%d bloggers like this: