Skip navigation

The 2011 BTRDA championship finale turned out to be a battle of two very different Mitsubishi Lancers. Pre-event attention was focused on the Peugeot Cosworth of Andrew Burton & Robin Kellard making its final appearance on a BTRDA rally but stage 2 saw the car succumb to an engine failure, whilst holding the joint lead of the event. Coming out of stage 2 it was co-leaders on stage 1 Shaun Gardener & Ben Innes (Evo 5.9) who took a one second lead from Tom Cave & Craig Parry (Lancer WRC). Stage 3 saw Cave take the lead from Gardener with Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) going fastest and coming back into the reckoning. The next stage, Alwen, proved to be the pivotal one as Cave dropped 14 seconds to Gardener and Hunter hit a gate post retiring on the spot. Gardener & Cave exchanged times through the remaining 4 stages but Gardener kept the advantage stable to take a well deserved win. Completing the podium were Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC).

As always there were several rallies within the overall rally and there really was only going to be one crew in the 2WD event, providing the car survived. Ieuan Rowlands & Em Hall totally dominated in their Volvo engined Escort MkII finishing 7th overall and over 4 minutes ahead of the next 2WD crew. With the B10 class being a 2WD class then the Saxo T4 of Laurent Fouques & Kevin Bronner was officially 2nd with Boyd Kershaw & Bryan Hull (Escort MkII) close behind. 3rd actual Silver Star crew were Matt Beebe & Richard Mills (MG ZR).

In the 1400’s Hefin Lloyd Davies & Mark Lewis (Nova) took a 4 second victory from 2011 champions, Darren Pinchin & Karen Watts (Satria). A distant 3rd were Clive Anstey & Tim Currie (Corsa). In the Historics section for post historic and classic cars Barry Jordan & James Gratton-Smith (Escort MkI) won by only two seconds from Terry Brown & Tomos Whittle (Escort MkII). David Lloyd Roberts & Dei Jones (Escort MkII) were only 4 seconds further back in 3rd. And finally at the head of the rally the Historic rally was won by Simon Wallis & Graham Wride (Lotus Cortina).

Video one day…

%d bloggers like this: