Skip navigation

Daily Archives: October 28th, 2011

The best of British drivers will have to contend with a notable foreign challenge when the MSA British Rallycross Grand Prix takes place at Croft Circuit next weekend as over 70 drivers will converge on the North Yorkshire circuit for the two-day extravaganza.

Motorsport legend Per Eklund from Sweden will be behind the wheel of the ex Will Gollop Peugeot 306 and will line up against Finnish driver Silvo Viitanen (ERC Fiesta Mk7 SuperCar). The two Scandinavians will take on the likes of European Championship contender Liam Doran (Citroen C4) and 2011 British Champion Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta) as part of a healthy 16-strong SuperCar line up. Read More »


Alistair Fergusson, Managing Director of Alcon Components, was elected for a second term as Chairman of the Motorsport Industry Association (MIA), during the MIA’s Annual General Meeting at Cosworth in Northampton on Wednesday. At the same time, Jim Morris, Managing Director of Lifeline Safety Systems, was re-elected to continue as Vice Chairman.

Alistair Fergusson said: “I am honoured to be elected for a second term. MIA members are overwhelmingly upbeat about the future for their companies and I look forward to continuing to work with them to buck the economic trend and deliver further business success for our sector.” Read More »

Luca Rossetti and Matteo Chiarcossi, with their Abarth Grande Punto S2000, earn at the Rallye du Valais the mathematical certainty of being European champions for the third time, the first crew to do so in the history of the continental series. The European Championship is the international motorsport series with the longest tradition, the first edition dates back to 1953 while the World Championship is held since 1973. Read More »

Compete in the ultimate Indian way, in a classic Hindustan Ambassador

H&H Classic Rallies has announced that it has a small number of the classic Indian Hindustan Ambassadors available on a first-come/first-served basis for the 2012 Rally of Rajasthan (23 Feb to 13 March).

With just a damage waiver to pay over and above the entry fee, it makes the iconic Ambi, as it’s known in India, a bargain rally car for this event. Known for its strength and ruggedness, the Ambi is a natural choice for those without their own Classic to take on this event. Read More »

– Event is one of Europe’s very best historic car rallies
– Iconic cars from Sixties, Seventies & Eighties to star
– Twilight stage is “icing on the cake” says circuit boss

Read More »

The major winners for the 2011 Dunlop/WONAGO MSA British Historic Rally Championship have been confirmed. Following the cancellation of the Isle of Man Historic Rally, due to start today (Friday 28 October), the major awards were decided over seven events and it was David Stokes and Guy Weaver who completed back-to-back titles in their Ford Escort Mk1.

Category victories went to Rikki Proffitt (Porsche 911), Andrew Siddall (Ford Escort Mk1) and Will Onions (Ford Escort Mk2). Meanwhile, the co-driver titles for the three categories fell to Geraldine McBride, Carl Williamson and Dave Williams. Despite ending their season with a spectacular accident on the Ulster Rally in August, Onions and Williams still claimed category three when their nearest rivals Tim Pearcey and Neil Shanks retired with gearbox failure on the final round, the Colin McRae Forest Stages Rally. That left Pearcey and Shanks just 1.5 points behind. Read More »