Skip navigation

The major winners for the 2011 Dunlop/WONAGO MSA British Historic Rally Championship have been confirmed. Following the cancellation of the Isle of Man Historic Rally, due to start today (Friday 28 October), the major awards were decided over seven events and it was David Stokes and Guy Weaver who completed back-to-back titles in their Ford Escort Mk1.

Category victories went to Rikki Proffitt (Porsche 911), Andrew Siddall (Ford Escort Mk1) and Will Onions (Ford Escort Mk2). Meanwhile, the co-driver titles for the three categories fell to Geraldine McBride, Carl Williamson and Dave Williams. Despite ending their season with a spectacular accident on the Ulster Rally in August, Onions and Williams still claimed category three when their nearest rivals Tim Pearcey and Neil Shanks retired with gearbox failure on the final round, the Colin McRae Forest Stages Rally. That left Pearcey and Shanks just 1.5 points behind.

The key award winners are as follows:

Overall champions: David Stokes and Guy Weaver (Ford Escort Mk1)

Category 1 champions: Rikki Proffitt (Porsche 911); Geraldine McBride (Porsche 911)

Category 2 champions: Andrew Siddall and Carl Williamson (Ford Escort Mk1)

Category 3 champions: Will Onions and Dave Williams (Ford Escort Mk2)

Class winners:
Class B1: Geoff Taylor and Steve Greenhill (Sunbeam Imp Sport)
Class B3: Callum Barney and Ron Channon (Ford Cortina GT)
Class B4: Graham Waite and Gill Cotton (Volvo Amazon)
Class B5: Dessie Nutt (Porsche 911); John Stanger-Leathes (Porsche 911)
Class C1: Steve Graham and Tony Graham (Lancia Fulvia)
Class C2: David Kirby and Ben Friend (Ford Escort Mk1)
Class C3: Dick Slaughter and Geoff Dearing (Ford Escort Mk1)
Class C4: Keith McIvor and David Burns (Porsche 911)
Class C5: Chris Browne and Liz Jordan (Ford Escort Mk1)
Class D2: Guy Anderson and Kim Baker (Talbot Sunbeam)
Class D3: Shawn Rayner and Declan Dear (Ford Escort Mk2)
Class D4: Steve Magson and Geoff Atkinson (Opel Ascona)
Class D5: Tim Pearcey and Neil Shanks (Ford Escort Mk2)

In addition to the overall BHRC, there are separate competitions run across the gravel and asphalt events. In the Water End Asphalt Cup, Stokes/Weaver took victory by a single point from Nutt/McBride. Meanwhile, in the Water End Gravel Cup there was a tie between Stokes/Weaver and Waite/Cotton. Each crew recorded four wins, a second and a non-finish in the six gravel events to leave them inseparable in the final points.

All of the BHRC awards will be presented at the annual HRCR Awards Evening on Saturday 18 February 2012.

%d bloggers like this: