Skip navigation

The championship came down to the final round but in the end neither of the contenders finished. Mikko Hirvonen (Fiesta WRC) retired on day 2 with a damaged engine after cooking it when he split the radiator in the first run through Dyfnant. Sebastien Loeb (DS3 WRC) had the title in the bag as was then free to battle with Jari-Matti Latvala (Fiesta WRC) for the rally. In the end it came to nought as Latvala was leading when Loeb collided with a spectator car on a road section. Mads Ostberg (Fiesta WRC) finished almost 4 minutes back in second place with Henning Solberg (Fiesta WRC) a similar margin back in 3rd.

The fairy tale story of the rally was further back though as Craig Breen did everything asked of him in the WRC Academy. He finished first but picked up the requisite number of stage wins and bonus points to win 500,000 Euros top prize by virtue of going fastest on the final stage.

For two days there was also a National rally where Roger Duckworth & Mark Broomfield (Impreza WRC) won by just over two seconds from Nigel Griffiths & Jon Scott (Impreza). Duckworth had inherited the lead when Roger Chilman & Andrew Sankey (Impreza WRC) retired on the 2nd day after a close 3 way battle event long. Picking up the final podium place were James Anderson & Ella Flynn (Evo IX).

Video one day…

%d bloggers like this: