Skip navigation

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERAAnother epic rally in Northern England & Southern Scotland with not quite as good a field as in 2010. Still that did not dampen the spirits and in fact the rally ended in a very snowy Kershope, reminiscent of the 2010 event. The overall winner looked set early on as Gwyndaf Evans & John Millington (Escort MkII) dominated. They went on to win by almost 8 minutes in the end, after consistently increasing their lead each day of the event. The only crew who got close to them were Paul Griffiths & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) but they retired on the 3rd day after suspension damage following an off in the Ae stage.

The battle for 2nd place however was not settled until the final stage. Tim Pearcey & Neil Shanks (Escort MkII( had almost a minute and a half to make up on David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkII) but a totally committed drive in the snowy conditions of Kershope saw Pearcey take over a half a minute out of the next fastest driver and more importantly almost two minutes out of Stokes to leapfrog them on the final stage.

In the Open Rally the victory margin was over 6 minutes as Martyn Hawkswell & Nick Welch (Escort MkII) won from the ever present on the RAC Andy Madge & Pat Cooper (Corolla GT). A distant 3rd place were Dave Hemingway & Simon Ashton (Escort MkII) who lost a load of time early on in the event but credit to them they kept running and were consistently the fastest crew in their class for the rest of the event.

In the Kall Kwik Rally Mathew Smith & Neil Colls (Ka) won by 18 seconds from the more powerful Escort MkII of Dave Brick & Rob Woodhouse, with Rob Herrington & Charlotte Banner (Escort MkII) 3rd. The De Lacy Night Rally only had one starter and finisher, John Nicholson & Don Bramfoot (Escort MkII). The Clubmans Rally was decided by just 6 seconds in the favour of Iain Haining & Mairi Riddick (Nova) from Stephen Richards & Scott Smith (Escort MkII). Lastly of the two entries in the Kershope Challenge it was the Escort MkII of Alan Hughes & Ken Bills were victorious.

%d bloggers like this: