Skip navigation

Back down in Bournemouth for the BRC season opener and it was to be a 2WD only show in the BRC. With 4WD gone from the championship again no one really knew which would be the car to beat and as the rally progressed it became a battle between Citroën and Renault. With barely a few seconds between them it was a tight battle between Jarkko Nikara & Petri Nikara (DS3 R3T) and Mark Donnelly & Dai Roberts (Clio R3). It all was decided on the final stage when Nikara’s engine expired leaving Donnelly to win by almost two minutes. Behind him though Citroën regained some pride as Desi Henry & Niall Burns (DS3 R3T) took 2nd overall with fastest stage time on the final test. Elfyn Evans & Andrew Edwards (Fiesta R2) completed the podium.

The first event to finish was the Historics and it was an easy win for James Potter & Nick Broome (Escort MkII) by over two minutes from the similar car of Rob Dennis & Bob Stokoe. The Escort MkI of Matthew Fowle & Elliott Edmondson completed the podium. In the Mini’s it was Jason & Hugh Thompson who took top honours after an event long battle with Eric Davis & Russell Joseph (Clubman).

In the BRC Challenge James Ford & Neil Coleman (Escort MkII) caught the regulars napping and took victory after a fine debut in the series. Richard Sykes & Simon Taylor (C2R2 Max) were 53 seconds back in second and Gareth White & Mick Dickson (C2R2 Max) were a fine third overall just over a minute further back.

And lastly there was the National rally which allowed anything. Roger Duckworth & Mark Broomfield (Impreza WRC) dominated and took a comfortable back to back victory. Behind them it was the battle of O’Brien’s, with senior beating Junior. So 2nd place went to Mick O’Brien & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) with Dan O’Brien & Paul Morris (Focus WRC) third.

%d bloggers like this: