Skip navigation

SONY DSCBefore a wheel was turned in anger the Somerset Stages had drama at the top of the field. Charlie Payne & Craig Thorley (Focus WRC) were non-starters earlier in the week but Roger Chilman & Bryan Thomas (Impreza WRC) got down to scrutineering and after working through the night were unable to start due to gearbox maladies. This left 2011 winners Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) with two major rivals missing. The retirements then hit in full effect from stage one with Mick O’Brien & Patrick Walsh (Focus WRC) failing to complete the first stage. Hunter had very little in the way of opposition and contrary to recent battles on the Somerset he eased to victory by over a minute.

2nd place were an ecstatic Matt Edwards & Sam Collis (Evo IX) with Jamie Anderson & Ella Flynn (Evo IX) just over 40 seconds further back. In the Silver Star it was a fine victory for Matthew Robinson & Nigel Hutchinson (Escort MkII) by a scant 9 seconds from Will Onions & Dave Williams, making a rare outing in their Dayglo Orange Escort MkII. Two minutes further back and completing the podium were Jon Ballinger & Mike Wilding (Manta) on their first event for some time.

In the 1400’s it was a perfect start continued fro Julian Wilkes & Will Rutherford-Child (Nova) as they dominated on their home event, winning by almost two and a half minutes. Justin Lawson & Paul Hargreaves (Nova) took second place by just over a minute from Marcel Freling & Karen Robinson (MG ZR).

%d bloggers like this: