Skip navigation

After missing out on the Bulldog we finally got to see a decent amount of action from the BRC crews in what proved to be a real endurance event for the crews. Keith Cronin & Marshall Clarke (DS3) were consistently quick throughout the Saturday to notch up their first win of the season from Jarkko & Petri Nikara (DS3). The final victory margin had been just over 17 seconds but in truth Cronin backed off on the final stage after holding a bigger lead over initial rally leader Nikara. The podium was duly completed by Mark Donnelly & Dai Roberts (Clio R3) over a minute and a half further back. Still this was welcome for the Sunseeker winner after what happened on the Bulldog. Special mention must go to Elfyn Evans & Phil Pugh (Fiesta R2) who had been 2nd overnight in what was a stunning drive in a less powerful car than the top 3.

In the Historic rally the top 3 were the same as the top 3 on the Bulldog. In the classics Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) were on stunning form, even with Steve Bannister & Louise Sutherland spectacularly rolling their Escort MkII on the 2nd stage. They won by over a minute from a really tight battle for 2nd place. Tomas & Eurig Davies (Escort MkII) just edging out Kevin Davies & Dale Furniss (Escort MkII) by just over a second.

Julian Reynolds & Patrick Walsh (Escort MkI) dominated the post Historics winning by almost two minutes from Rupert Lomax & David Alcock (Escort MkI) with Andrew Siddall & Carl Williamson (Escort MkI) just under 13 seconds further behind. David Stokes & Guy Weaver retired their Escort MkI on the penulimate stage with engine failure.

In the Historics Rikki Proffitt & Phill Harrison (911) won by almost a minute from Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride (911) with Terry Brown & John Stanger-Leathes (911) 50 seconds further back in third. The Porsche 911’s took the top 5 spots dominating the category like the Escorts do in categories 2 and 3.

In the challenge rally Simon Moore & Emma Morrison headed a Clio 1-2 by 45 seconds from Russ Thompson & Andy Murphy with Richard Archer & John Connor (Corsa) a distant 3rd overall.

In the Tour of Cumbria it was a last gasp victory for Dan O’Brien & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) as they capitalised on a last stage mechanical issue robbing Jon Burn & Alan Stark (Imprzea WRC) of almost certain victory. 2nd place went to Martin Cairns & Peter Ward (Impreza WRC) who held off the recovering Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson (Accent WRC).

With no finishers in the Tour of Cumbria 2, we move on to the Land Rovers where it was a comfortable victory for Alan Paramore & James Sunderland by almost 4 minutes.

%d bloggers like this: