Skip navigation

With a clash of two events we usually attend we went for the trip to Wales for the Severn Valley Rally. We were in for a real treat as the rally saw only half a second separate the top two. Going into the final stage Julian Reynolds & Patrick Walsh (Escort MkI) led the event, a stunning drive in a post Historic car. Kevin Davies & Dale Furniss (Escort MkII) were a few seconds behind with Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) hot on their heels. But barely a mile from the end of the final stage Davies’s hopes went up in smoke as his engine blew. Elliott was ahead on the road so didn’t know what had happened behind him. He was spectacular and did enough to not only win the Classic category but take overall victory from Reynolds by the closest ever victory margin in BHRC history.

Rounding out the top three overall were Warren Philliskirk & Matt Whattham (Escort MkII) some two minutes further back. In to the classes and with Elliott winning category 3 from Philliskirk it was James Potter & Bob Duck (Escort MkII) who completed the podium. In category 2 Reynolds was victorious by almost 3 minutes from Ernie & Will Graham (Escort MkI). Breaking the Ford stranglehold were Tim Mason & Graham Wild in their Porsche 911.

Category 1 was full of drama. Rikki Proffitt & Phill Harrison (911) would have won if they hadn’t have taken a short cut on both stages at the Welsh Showground. They were handed two stage maximums and ended up 5th. Graham Waite & Gill Cotton (Volvo Amazon) looked good for the victory but retired just after the mid point of the rally. This saw a battle between Ian Beveridge & Paul Price (Volvo PV544), Derek Boyd & Peter Scott (911) and Simon Wallis & Graham Wride (Cortina) for victory. Wallis pulled it out of the bag on the final stage to jump from 3rd to 1st beating Beveridge by 4 seconds. Boyd went from 2nd to 3rd just 6 seconds further back.

In the Historic Challenge Bob Gibbons & Stuart Cardell (Cortina) won by over a minute from Eric Davis & Russell Joseph (Mini Clubman) with Andrew O’Hanlon & James Crook (Mini Cooper) in third place.

Behind all of these was the open or modern rally and it saw Bob Ceen & Andy Bull (Impreza WRC) take a fine victory after leading for most of the event. Tom Naughton & Horace Saville (Evo IX) flew to a great 2nd place overall with Alex Allingham & Mark Glennerster (Imprzea) completing the podium.

%d bloggers like this: