Skip navigation

The first trip on to asphalt in this years BHRC and a full championship return for the Harry Flatters Rally. It saw an epic battle which led to victory for Gareth James & Steffan Evans (Escort MkII) beating Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) on a rare asphalt outing. The gap was just under 25 seconds but crucially Elliott failed to win category 3 for the first time this year whilst category 2 saw main title contenders Julian Reynolds & Patrick Walsh (Escort MkI) fight back from gearbox issues early on to win the category and finish 3rd overall just under a minute back.

Completing the category 3 podium were Gareth Lloyd & Ryland James (Escort MkII), whilst in category 2 David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) took 2nd place with Ernie & Will Graham (Escort MkI) just 6.5 seconds back in 3rd place. In category 1 there were only 3 finishers in the end and it was a comfortable win for Dessie Nutt & Geralding McBride (911) with Peter Stimpson & Mark Butler (Anglia Allerdette) a fine 2nd place with the podium completed by Derek Boyd & Simon Hunter (911).

In the modern rally current double asphalt champion and 2012 championship leaders Damian Cole & James Morgan (Focus WRC) took victory by half a minute. Peter Lloyd & Graham Handley (Impreza WRC) were a comfortable 2nd place overall after the rally effectively became a 2 crew race, following the first loop of stages. The final podium spot was an opportunity for some glory for the 2WD crews and it proved to be the battle of the Darrian’s. Mark Straker & Neil Harrison took 3rd in their T90 GTR.

%d bloggers like this: