Skip navigation

Our first foray on this event but by no means our first trip to Otterburn and with a late entry from Melvyn Evans & Aled Davies (Impreza WRC) it promised to be a cracker. After the first stage it looked otherwise as Damian Cole & Craig Drew (Focus WRC) left the road, dropping the best part of a minute but still in the event. John Stone & Janice Moore (Fabia WRC) retired at the first junction so Evans held a convincing lead from Andy Davison & Mike Curry (BMW M3). Davison retired at the start of stage 2 and controversially Evans was excluded after stage 2 for failing noise, by which time Cole had passed all the other crews to now inherit the lead.

In 2nd place were Darren Atkinson & Phil Sandham (Escort MkII) who then crashed out heavily on stage 5. By now Cole was winning with ease but the rally almost got him as he struggled through the final stage with a puncture to win by just over a minute. In second place were Chris Anderson & Chris Thirling (Fiesta S1600) who had a stunning drive all day and snatched the place on the final stage by just 3 seconds. Demoted to 3rd were Christopher Jones & Ashley Trimble (Focus STi) but they were happy to reach the finish, like most of the other crews.

%d bloggers like this: