Skip navigation

Ahead of the final round of the BHRC it was all still to play for with any of three drivers up for the championship. Julian Reynolds & Patrick Walsh (Escort MkI) had the lead in the championship but they also had the greatest threat from fellow category 2 contenders on this event. Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) looked good in category 3 and would be there to pick up the pieces if Reynolds failed to deliver. Then there was Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride (911) who needed Reynolds to finish 3rd or worse and Elliott to finish 2nd or worse in their respective categories, whilst they won category 1. Elliott stormed into an early lead and with Nutt behind Rikki Proffitt & Phill Harrison (911), it was now a two way fight for the title. Reynolds was 2nd overall behind Elliott from stage 2 onwards but the gap to Richard Hill & Patrick Cooper (Escort MkI) was only growing slowly. Hill then retired on stage 5 whilst Reynolds was still on a maximum attack and had passed Elliott for the overall lead. On the final stage Elliott regained the lead, whilst Reynolds slipped back to 2nd with David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) third and over two minutes back. Reynolds took the title after an excellent season long battle across the 3 categories.

In the National B event it was victory for Quintin Milne & Martin Forrest (Evo IX) who won by over half a minute from Barry Groundwater & Neil Shanks (Evo IX). Milne set the pace from the first stage and was under attack from Mike Faulkner & Peter Foy (Evo IV), who was fastest on stage 2 before he edged past Milne on stage 3. He only took 2nd place though as Dave Weston Jnr & Dave Robson (Impreza WRC) took the lead after stage 3. Faulkner retired from 2nd place before stage 4, losing his chance to secure 2nd place in the championship following the earlier retirement of Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC). This left Weston Jnr with a 25 seconds lead going into the final pair of stages but it would all count for nought as Weston Jnr retired on stage 5. Milne then held his nerve through the final test.

Completing the podium was the reigning and quadruple Scottish champions David Bogie & Kevin Rae, as they made an outing in a McGeehan Motorsport Escort MkII. They finished just under a minute back in what was a fun outing as the crew look at their options for 2013. Having proved themselves it is now all about having a laugh and rear wheel drive looks to be the route they will take. Calum Mackenzie & Alan Clark (Escort MkII) were the 2nd 2WD crew home in 6th overall, just over a minute behind Bogie, with Malcolm Buchanan & Jim Howie (Escort MkII) a further half a minute back to complete the 2WD podium.

%d bloggers like this: