Skip navigation

It is all systems go for the Roger Albert Clark Rally Championship following confirmation that the new series has been granted championship status for 2013.

To be run as a National B status championship and run by the Roger Albert Clark Rally Motor Club, the new series will cover seven one-day gravel rallies, starting with the Red Kite Rally on Sunday 20 January.

The championship will cater for cars from MSA historic Categories One, Two and Three, complying fully with MSA historic regulations. There will be a class for cars prepared to FIA Appendix K regulations, while additional classes will accommodate cars built up to the end of 1986, other pre ’87 cars that do not fully comply with historic regulations and an open category.

The provisional championship schedule is:

20 January     Red Kite Rally
3 March    Mid Wales Stages
5/6 April    Bulldog Rally
28 April    Tour of Hamsterley
29 June    Scottish Rally
10 August    Neath Valley Stages
27/28 September    Trackrod Rally

Colin Heppenstall, the man behind the Roger Albert Clark Rally, is the driving force for the new series but says that it is competitor demand that has been the catalyst for creation of the new championship.

“We have settled on seven events with the best five results to count,” said Heppenstall. “With four events in Wales and three in the north of England and Scotland, we are giving a lot of people the chance to tackle five events with only one or two trips away from their home region. Times are difficult for everyone and we are very keen to make the championship as accessible as possible.” By running to a National B permit, the championship will be open to newcomers to the sport.

The Roger Albert Clark Rally Championship will comprise seven categories or ‘series’:

Series 1: as the current MSA historic category one (up to 31 December 1967)

Series 2: as the current MSA historic category two (up to 31 December 1974)

Series 3: as the current MSA historic category three (up to 31 December 1981)

Series 4: cars complying with the current FIA Appendix K regulations

Series 5: Cars first registered between 1 January 1982 and 31 December 1986 running to the vehicle’s original specification and using period parts.

Series 6: Cars first registered up to 31 December 1986 that have been built to comply with the MSA historic regulations but that do not fully comply.

Series 7: Cars first registered up to 31 December 1986 that do not comply with Series 1 to 6. This series will include modern specification cars such with free modifications retained within the original body specification.

Heppenstall says he has been overwhelmed by the level of interest from potential competitors, both from existing historic competitors and those with cars that fit into the other series.

More details, including TV arrangements, eligibility processes and outline regulations will be made available over the coming weeks.

More Details can be found at

%d bloggers like this: