Skip navigation

Daily Archives: October 20th, 2012

It was a dramatic conclusion to the 2012 BTRDA rally series with three crews going into the final round with a shot at the title. The equation was simple for Hugh Hunter & Andy Marchbank (Focus WRC) along with Roger Chilman & Bryan Thomas (Impreza WRC), win the rally and they were champions, Shaun Gardener & Ben Innes (Evo 5.9) needed the calculators out if either Chilman or Hunter finished behind them. Stage one provided the first twist in this drama. Chilman was just over halfway through Clocaenog Main 1 when he made a dramatic exit at high speed. The car was totaled and blocked the stage, but the crew were okay. All Hunter had to do was finish, effectively, as Gardener was well off the pace. Coming out of 2nd service Hunter held almost a minutes advantage overall but on stage 5, Clocaenog East 2, everything went wrong. As he approached our position his car was out of sorts and as he left the car was struggling to engage any drive at all. Hunter did not make the start of the penultimate stage, so Gardener & Innes were 2012 champions irrespective of where they finished. They came in 5th overall. Read More »