Skip navigation

After several years of following the same schedule we mixed it up on the Tempest this year. Okay so it was the same old stages but in a different order and we got to see the most of this rally which provided a tight battle in both the Tempest 2 & Tempest 4. In the Tempest 4 Dan O’Brien & Mark Glennerster (Focus WRC) came out on top by 20 seconds after spending the first half of the rally behind Jason Pritchard & Dale Furniss (Focus WRC). It had been a good battle all day long as Pritchard looked set for a great debut result in a WR car but in the end he just held onto 2nd with Rob Swann & Darren Garrod (Impreza) only 4 seconds back.

In the Tempest 2 2011 winners Russ Thompson & Andy Murphy (Clio) had started out well but ultimately could not hold off Callum Black & Paul Wakely (DS3 R3T) who increased his pace on the 2nd passes through the stages. Black won by 15 seconds in the end and it was interesting to note that the top 2 were front wheel drive, fending off a fleet of Escort MkII’s. 3rd overall and top Escort MkII crew were Will Nicholls & Nick Broom who beat Mark Spencer & Stuart Andrew in a similar car by just 3 seconds.

%d bloggers like this: