Skip navigation

WWRS Mid Wales 13bThe special award winners for the opening round of the West Wales Rally Spares RAC Rally Championship have been announced following the Rally Marketing Mid Wales Stages (Sunday 3 March).

Jerry Bailey and Graham Lacey took the unfortunate accolade of posting the first retirement of the rally when the head-gasket of their Ford Escort Mk2 failed and they retired four miles in to the opening stage. The last retirement was the Lotus Cortina of Pete Gunson/Johnny Haynes, which broke on the final stage. Both crews will receive a £100 voucher from West Wales Rally Spares, as will Dick Slaughter/Geoff Dearing who’s number came out of the hat in the draw for a third voucher.

Ford Escort Mk1 crew Robin Shuttleworth and Ronnie Roughead will receive a cheque for just under £300 from Holton Homes after their number came out of the draw for a refund of 50% of the event entry fee.

The ‘Spirit of the Rally’ product award from Fuchs Lubricants will go to Grant Shand. Having retired from the event after going off on the first stage, Shand was in the service area later in the day when Alan Walker needed a rapid gearbox change. Not only did Shand and some of his crew from Rally Xtreme dive in to help with the work, he also supplied a replacement clutch to get Walker back in the rally.

Iwan and Aled Rees won the Best Improvement on Seeding, which is a set of axle brake pads from Mintex. They started as car 151 and turned in a very impressive performance to finish 23rd overall and win class C3 in their Ford Escort Mk1.

Finally, Ryan Barrett won the ‘Hard Charger’ award: a 20-litre jerry can from Green Valley Industrial Supplies. On his first gravel rally for two years and on unfamiliar stages, the Northern Irishman drove superbly to finish third overall.

%d bloggers like this: