Skip navigation

SONY DSCIn the end it all came down to who was fastest first on the 2013 Tour of Epynt. Steve Simpson & Patrick Walsh (Impreza WRC) almost threw away a 24 second lead they had steadily built up through the opening 3 loops of stages. On the penultimate loop Damien Cole & Craig Drew (Focus WRC) equaled the time of Simpson and then an indiscretion on the final stage almost changed the rally on the final stage. Simpson held on and denied Cole a first ever Tour of Epynt victory. Paul Bird & Aled Davies (Focus WRC) had dramas of their own dropping half a minute mid event but held on to clinch the final podium place.

Just 8 seconds behind and top 2WD crew were Simon Mauger & Brian Cammack (Escort MkII). They looked to have solid pace all day and held off John Indri & Joe Cruttenden (Darrian T90 GTR) who were a comfortable 2nd 2wd crew and 5th overall. Completing the 2WD podium and 6th overall were Washington James & Paul Williams (Darrian T90 GTR) who held off a gaggle of crews and either B13 Imprezas or WRC specification cars.

%d bloggers like this: