Skip navigation

– Citroën Racing Trophy UK returns to Scotland for round three
– Jukka Korhonen aiming for third successive win
– All of the top-10 seeded entrants are DS3 R3 runners, as the 1600cc machines continue to dominate

Round three of both the Citroën Racing Trophy UK and British Rally Championship return to Scotland again this weekend, but this time it’s to the border forests, rather than the tarmac roads encountered on round two. Tarmac or gravel, it seems no problem to Finn, Jukka Korhonen, who dominated the opening rally in the Kielder forests, then took a superb win on the Jim Clark Rally, but not without a strong challenge from Tom Cave.

The RSAC Scottish event is making a welcome return to the British Championship and with it will bring some classic stages in the Ae and Clatteringshaws forests. Indeed the Friday evening start in Dumfries is followed by 73 competitive miles over nine tough stages, before the Saturday tea-time finish in Dumfries high street.

Rocks have always been an issue on the Scottish forest tests, with punctures often upsetting the order of events. Traditionally, the Finnish drivers have done extremely well in Scotland, with some of the fast-flowing sections similar to Scandinavia.

The top-10 seeds are all Citroën DS3 R3 runners, with championship leader Korhonen first away, followed by Tom Cave and Alastair Fisher, who is fresh back from the WRC Rally Italia Sardegna. Jonny Greer is next up, and the 24-year-old has worked hard in the run-up to the event, to try and mount a more concerted challenge.

At number five is young Welshman, Osian Pryce, who suffered a costly puncture on round one, but took a podium spot on the Jim Clark, with a handful of fastest stage times. It’s a home event for Scot John MacCrone, who has shown great speed on both rounds, but a puncture on the Pirelli and rear axle damage on the Jim Clark have thwarted the points hauls.

Pirelli Star Driver, Mark Donnelly, is at number seven and, with gravel being the Northern Irish racer’s favoured surface, he is aiming to ramp up his Trophy campaign. Peter Taylor, Callum Black and Brendan Cumiskey round out the top ten. The final DS3 runner is James Grint at number 15.

It promises to be a fabulous fast run in the forests for the 1600cc turbo-charged front wheel drive machines which are dominating the British Rally Championship again this season.

CitroënRacing Trophy UK- Drivers Championship- After Round 2

1st Jukka Korhonen   40
2nd Tom Cave  34
3rd Alastair Fisher   33
4th Jonny Greer  29
5th Osian Pryce 28
6th Peter Taylor  25
7th James Grint  22
8th John MacCrone 14
9th Mark Donnelly 13
10th Brendan Cumiskey  10
11th Desi Henry  0

%d bloggers like this: