Skip navigation

nickygrist13 (10)On a truly scorching weekend the record books will show a comfortable victory for Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) on the Nicky Grist Stages. Coming in to stage 4 of 7 Elfyn Evans & Daniel Barritt (Fiesta R5) held a comfortable lead  before they pulled the car over with an alternator fault, towards the end of the stage. On the same stage Connor McCloskey & Francis Regan (Impreza WRC) rolled out of the event but Thorburn had moved ahead and into 2nd overall on the previous stage. Charlie Payne & Carl Williamson (Focus WRC) finished 2nd overall after being off the pace of Thorburn mid event and completing the podium with a superb drive were Sebastian Ling & Aled Rees (Evo IX) who just held off Alex Allingham & Chris Williams (Impreza) in the battle for group N honours too.

In the Silver Star battle Matthew Robinson & Nigel Hutchinson (Escort MkII) kept it together to beat the local crew Terry Brown & Tomos Whittle (Escort MkII) by just over half a minute. Rob Dennis & Andrew Boswell (Escort MkII) completed the podium. However the first 2WD crew home were Dave Bennett & Alistair McNeil (Corsa) who beat Julian Wilkes & Pamela Hilton (Nova) by 14 seconds after a rally long battle. Completing the podium in a distant 3rd were Darren Pinchin & Karen Watts (Satria).

%d bloggers like this: