Skip navigation

SONY DSCA mixed day of weather conditions, up on the ranges, made it a tyre selection lottery and one which provided a surprising result. If anything you would have expected a WRC or 4WD rally car at least to have dominated this event but against all odds Mark Straker & Neil Harrison took their Darrian T90 GTR to a fine 13 second win overall. After going fastest on the opening pair of stages Damian Cole & Jonathan Griffiths (Focus WRC) were leading by over 6 seconds but the longest stage of the loop saw Straker go fastest by almost 10 seconds. Straker then went fastest on all the stages of the 2nd loop, beating the bogey on the 3rd stage of that loop. Cole took stage 7, Straker stage 8 by a bigger margin and on the final stage lost almost 12 seconds of his lead to flatter Cole’s 2nd place. Peter Lloyd & Neil James (Impreza WRC) completed the podium over a minute further back, having not quite been on the pace all day.

Ahead of the open field were the Historics and as ever it was the Escort MkII’s which battled for the lead. Gareth James & Steffan Evans were marginally ahead after the first loop but a spin at Copse on stage 4 saw Kevin Davies & Eifion Thomas snatch the lead. By stage 6 James had got the lead back and after stage 7 held the lead by over 10 seconds but a concerted push over the final two stages saw Davies narrow the margin down to 7 seconds at the end of the rally. Tomas Davies & Den Golding had been their on time over the shorter stages but lost out on the longer tests. Still they completed an Escort MkII podium almost 2 minutes back in 3rd.

In category 2 David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) were comfortable winners by almost 3 minutes from the similar car of Roger Matthews & Paul Morris, with Wayne Bonser & Rick Aston third in their class C3 Escort MkI. Category 1 saw a tight battle as Dessie Nutt & Geraldine McBride (911) lead after six stages but with 3 loops to go the rally had plenty of miles left and Rikki Profitt & Phil Harrison (911) went fastest on all 3 of the final long stages to win by just over a quarter of a minute. The only other finisher in category 1 were Peter Lewis & Alan Jones (Anglia).

%d bloggers like this: