Skip navigation

WWRS pre-Red Kite13aAnother tremendous entry has been assembled for the Red Kite Stages, round five of the West Wales Rally Spares R.A.C. Rally Championship (Sunday 8 September).

With 45 miles of prime Welsh stages in the Crychan and Cefn region from a base in Llandovery, the Red Kite promises to be another highlight of a fabulous debut season for the new championship. The rally was originally intended to be the opening round of the championship in January, but heavy snow forced the organisers to postpone the rally.

Significantly, the overall title could be settled on this penultimate round of the championship as Marty McCormack and Phil Clarke bid to secure the inaugural WWRS R.A.C. Rally Championship title.

The Escort Mk2 crew can seal the crown with another victory on the Welsh event, having scored three wins on the trot over the last three rallies. However, if the Irishman is headed by the similar cars of Nick Elliott or Jason Pritchard, the title will not be resolved until the concluding Trackrod Rally at the end of September.

The Roger Albert Clark Rally Motor Club has developed the R.A.C. Championship, which focuses on historic rally cars complying with MSA and FIA historic regulations. But, significantly, it also opens up the chance for the next generation of cars to join the historic fraternity.

The 2013 championship is running over six one-day gravel rallies in England, Scotland and Wales. The championship caters for cars from MSA historic Categories One, Two and Three as well as cars prepared to FIA Appendix K. Additional classes accommodate cars built up to the end of 1986 as well as other pre ’87 cars that do not fully comply with historic regulations.

Yet another fabulous field packs out the Rob Smith Rallying Series 3, with McCormack and Elliott at the head of the field. However, this is certainly not just a two-way contest as both Jason Pritchard/Dale Furniss and Matt Edwards/Andy Murphy clearly have the speed to win overall and Pritchard was just eight seconds away from winning round four, the Neath Valley Stages. The quality of Escort Mk2 entry goes much, much further with crews like Terry Brown/Tomos Whittle, Kevin Davies/Dale Bowen, Matthew Robinson/Nigel Hutchinson, Tim Pearcey/Jamie Edwards, James Potter/Bob Duck and Warren Philliskirk/Paul Wakely making up a sensational top 10.

Just outside the top 10 will be rallying twins Phil and Mick Squires, who will reach a remarkable milestone on the Red Kite when they contest the 200th rally in their familiar Ford Escort Mk2 ‘TUN 894T’. The Stoke-on-Trent brothers have been rallying for 29 years and have competed in the same Escort since 1993.

In class D3, the pace of young Ben Mellors and Alex Lee has been outstanding over recent events in their Pinto-powered Escort Mk2, while Peter Smith and Graham Wild offer strong opposition in their Opel Kadett as bounce back from a very early retirement in Neath. More quick class D3 Escorts are handled by Paul Fry/Mike Steele and youngsters Ben Friend/Jonathan Jackson. In class D4 is the Sunbeam Lotus of James Stait/Glyn Thomas, while the ever-popular Hillman Avenger of Graham Thatcher/Rob James runs in D2.

The 2-litre Pinto-powered Escort Mk1s of Dick Slaughter/Geoff Dearing and David Kirby/Chris Rixon will take on the BMW 2002 of Terry Cree/Richard Shores in class C3 within the Capital Construction Series 2 (1968-74). In class C5, the battle will be between the Ford Escort Mk1s of Nick Jarvis/Craig Thorley and Ian Rix/Lee Carter, while Robin Shuttleworth/Ron Roughead head class C2, and run first car on the road, in their Ford Escort Mk1.

In the Walker Diecastings Series 1 for pre ’68 cars the top championship contenders are John Everard and Mark Sharpley in the gorgeous Alfa Romeo Junior GT. Their rivals include Chris and Jo Tooze (Singer Chamois) and Stephen Higgins/Don Bramfoot (Saab 96). Finally, Series 7 for open pre ’87 cars is headed by the very rapid Ford Escort Mk2 of Mark Spencer and Steve Pugh.

The Red Kite Stages is organised by the Amman and District Motor Club. For more details about the event please visit

More details about the event and the R.A.C. Rally Championship can be found at Follow the championship on Facebook at and on Twitter: @RACRallyChamp.

%d bloggers like this: