Skip navigation

WWRS FriendThe special award winners for the fifth round of the West Wales Rally Spares R.A.C. Rally Championship have been announced following the Red Kite Stages (Sunday 8 September).

Matt Edwards posted the first retirement of the rally when his Ford Escort Mk2 suffered clutch problems early in the opening Crychan stage. The last retirement was the Alfa Romeo Junior GT of John Everard/Mark Sharpley, which suffered fuel problems on the final stage in Caio. Both crews will receive a £100 voucher from West Wales Rally Spares, as will Ford Escort Mk2 crew Ben Friend/Jonathan Jackson after their number came out of the hat in the draw for a third voucher.

Meanwhile, Saab 96 crew Stephen Higgins and Don Bramfoot will receive a cheque for £225 from Holton Homes after their number came out in the draw for a refund of 50% of the event entry fee.

The ‘Spirit of the Rally’ product award from Fuchs Lubricants goes to championship winners Marty McCormack and Phil Clarke. They drove another brilliant rally to seal the title and were quick to praise the pace of their rivals after thrilling the fans out watching the action.

Friend and Jackson also won the Best Improvement on Seeding, which is a set of axle brake pads from Mintex, after a tremendous run in their Ford Escort Mk2. Finally, Ben Mellors won the ‘Hard Charger’ award of a 20-litre jerry can from Green Valley Industrial Supplies. Mellors and co-driver Alex Lee drove a storming rally to win class D3 in their Pinto-powered Ford Escort Mk2 and finish a remarkable sixth overall among the more powerful BDG-powered Escorts.

%d bloggers like this: