Skip navigation

trackrod13 (12)Welsh eyes were smiling as Osian Pryce & Dale Furniss (DS3 R3T) took back to back wins after their maiden BRC win on the Ulster Rally in August. This one was a different affair as they were in a fierce battle all event long and only beat Jukka Korhonen & Marko Salminen (DS3 R3T) by just under 10 seconds. Korhonen was by no means secure in 2nd as Alastair Fisher & Gordon Noble (DS3 R3T) were only 3 seconds back after some stunning stage times early on the Saturday. In the Rally Two category Daniel McKenna & Arthur Kierans (Fiesta) took victory by just under two seconds. Jon Armstrong & Karl Atkinson (Fiesta) just edged out Steve Rokland & James Aldridge (Fiesta) by just 0.1s on the final stage. In the R1 category Ban & Jason Mckay (Twingo) took the honours as the only finishers.

The final round of the West Wales RAC championship saw the top 3 contenders all sit this round out with the championship decided but with Steve Bannister & Louise Sutherland (Escort MkII) top of the entry list it was hard to see anyone else fighting for the win. However the opening stages through a dark Dalby saw Matt Edwards & Elliott Edmondson (Escort MkII) take a half a minute lead into the Saturday. They knew on the Saturday Banner would be doing all he could to win but Edwards but in a superb drive to win by just under 12 seconds, a self confessed career best highlight for the North Wales driver. Almost a minute further back were Tim Pearcey & Neil Shanks (Escort MkII). Category wins went to Nick Cook & Neil Colls (Escort MkI) in the open class, Tim Mason & Graham Wild (911) took category 2, with the FIA class win going to James Slaughter & Phil Peak (Escort MkII) and category 1 won comfortably by Bob Bean & Captain Thompson (Lotus Cortina).

The BRC challenge saw a dominant run Russ Thompson & Andy Murphy (Clio) winning by over 50 seconds. Richard Sykes & Emma Morrison (C2R2) took 2nd place after Luke Pinder & Martyn Taylor rolled their Fiesta on the final stage, with Gareth White & Jack Morton (C2R2) also moving up one place to take the final podium spot. In the Land Rovers Alan Paramore & Mark Roberts (Wolf XD) won by over 5 minutes.

At the back end of the field and as a pre-cursor for 2014, the BTRDA field had their own separate event. Stephen Petch & Ian Windress (Focus WRC) took an early lead and through a succession of fastest stage times, 3 out of the 5 stages, ended up with a comfortable win by over half a minute. This keeps their championship aspirations alive going into the final round where another win could be enough but for Connor McCloskey & Francis Regan (Impreza WRC) their rally ended on the 4th stage when they hit a gate post. They still are favourites to win the title but now need to finish in the top 6 and beat Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) on the Cambrian. Thorburn had being hoping to score well and 3rd was just reward as a hard charging Charlie Payne & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) took 2nd overall to consolidate their championship lead. With dropped scores coming in to play Payne cannot improve his score as he has now started 8 rounds but if Petch doesn’t win and both McCloskey and Thorburn have problems then he will be champion.

In the other fields everything is either decided or all but over barring a major calamity. In the silver star Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) took victory by a long way but they need to finish first on the Cambrian whilst champions elect Rob Dennis & Andrew Boswell (Escort MkII) finish 9th or worse. Dennis was 2nd on this event all but sealing the title and he finished just ahead of Pete Smith & Patrick Walsh (Escort MkI) who needed a win and results to go their way to have a chance of the title. They lie 2nd but with Robinson still in the hunt for the title 3rd will probably be their end position.

In the 1400’s Julian Wilkes & Will Rutherford-Child (Nova) did what they needed to do and secured yet another title beating Mat Smith & Giles Dykes (Ka) by over 2 minutes. They can now go on and get 6 maximums on the Cambrian to win in style but back to back titles is more than enough reward in a season where they have been pushed harder than before. Leroy Mills & Robert Fyffe (Corsa) were 3rd but are not registered so it was Rally First winner Joe Evett & Calvin Houldsworth (ZR) who took 3rd placed points.

%d bloggers like this: