Skip navigation

Monthly Archives: September 2013

MG KX Silverstone13Jason Plato continued his record-breaking run of success in the British Touring Car Championship by pushing his career victory tally to 80 with brace of triumphs at Silverstone on Sunday.

Plato led home team-mate Sam Tordoff in the opening race and then repeated the success in the second event in Northamptonshire, while Tordoff came home in fourth in race two. Read More »


– Early title win for Mike Rockenfeller at Zandvoort
– Fifth DTM title for Audi in seven years
– Chairman Rupert Stadler: “Proof of our RS models’ powerful performance”

Read More »

Audi Rockenfeller– Mike Rockenfeller crowns strong season with early title win
– Country life decelerates the Audi factory driver
– Head of Audi Sport Ullrich: “Everyone’s delighted for him to have won the title”

Mike Rockenfeller has extended his biography by a decisive item in the second from last round of the 2013 DTM season at Zandvoort (the Netherlands). Read More »

Langwathby driver Paul Bird saw his hopes of winning the REIS Get Connected MSA Asphalt Rally Championship remain intact when he claimed a battling runner-up spot on this weekend’s Patriot Stages Rally.

The former ANCRO National Champion was making his debut on the event and after winning two rounds of the Championship this season by taking victories on the Manx National Rally and ALMC Stages, he was looking for another good result in the, Fuchs Titan, Rapid Solicitors and Kick Energy-backed, Pirelli-shod FBP Ford Focus WRC07 he was sharing with Welsh co-driver Aled Davies. Read More »

AaronMcClureInActionPR11NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge contender Aaron McClure endured a tough Rally Yorkshire last weekend but recovered in fine style to take the FiestaSport Challenge (FSC) title on the two day gravel event. Partnered by co-driver Tom Woodburn, McClure once again drove with maturity beyond his years to secure the FSC win with one event to go in the seven-round championship. Read More »

Benjamin Mckay Renault TwingoAfter a hat trick of wins for MSA British Rally Championship contender Ben Mckay, the 21 year old from Ellesmere overcame a host of setbacks to win the R1 class, MSA Junior category and Twingo Renaultsport R1 Trophy UK on last weekend’s Rally Yorkshire. Based in the Dalby Forest complex, the event would mark McKay’s first event on a gravel surface at night and unbeknown to the young rally star, he would start the two day event at a distinct disadvantage to class rival Harry Threlfall in his similar Renault Twingo. Read More »

Alex Parpottas Ford Fiesta Pirelli Star DriverJust four weeks after narrowly missing out on the coveted Pirelli Star Driver Nomination in Ulster, MSA British Rally Championship contender Alex Parpottas caught the eye of the selection committee on last weekend’s Rally Yorkshire and became the fifth driver this year to be awarded the sought after “Yellow Jacket”. Once again driving his Buzz Sweets Ford Fiesta R2, Parpottas managed to impress the panel throughout the two day event and will now head to the Pirelli Shootout later in the year where he will be vying for the prize of a fully paid drive in the 2014 MSA British Rally Championship. Read More »

The fight for the 2013 ARR Craib MSA Scottish Rally Championship resumes next Saturday on the penultimate round, the Colin McRae Forest Stages, with Euan Thorburn targeting his third win of the season as he attempts to chase down defending title-holder David Bogie.

Thorburn, co-driven by Paul Beaton, powered his Ford Focus WRC to a forty-four second victory over his Dumfries rival on the GWF Energy Merrick Stages, and thwarted Bogie’s bid to seal an unprecedented fifth consecutive Scottish crown alongside co-driver Kevin Rae, with two rounds remaining.

“Our aim is simple – to keep the championship away from David as long as possible”, stated Thorburn, who won the McRae Stages in 2011. Read More »

Rally Yorkshire’s swansong in the MSA British Rally Championship saw young Welshman Osian Pryce and co-driver Dale Furniss take a well deserved second straight victory on this, their second full season in Britain’s premier rally series.

Pickering’s penultimate round of the 2013 BRC season was a real nail biter from start to finish, emulating last year’s event with tenths of seconds splitting the drivers until all but the final group of stages.

The lead changed three times, but it was series leaders Jukka Korhonen and Marko Salminen who opened their account with a fastest time in the darkness of Friday night’s Staindale stage. Read More »

Kopecky-Dresler win the Croatia RallyThe final podium is completed by Andreas Aigner (Subaru, new leader of the Production Cup) and Hermann Gassner jr. (Mitsubishi) who finished in this order after a great battle – Molly Taylor (Citroen) seals the Ladies’ Trophy – Zoltan Bessenyey (Honda) only a step away from the 2WD Cup title – Daniel Saskin first of the local drivers – The FIA President Jean Todt attends the event – The Colin McRae Flat Out Trophy awarded to Andreas Aigner for this event. Read More »