Skip navigation

cambrian13 (10)Once again the Cambrian would see the Gold Star title decided. Straight out of the blocks were Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC) who despite a puncture, were fastest through the opening stage. Stephen Petch & Ian Windress (Focus WRC) were the only ones who could keep pace but when they retired on stage 5, Thorburn held a minutes lead and the title was in his grasp. He held on extended his lead over the final few stages to take the title on a count back after finishing level on points with Connor McCloskey & Francis Regan (Impreza WRC), who finished 2nd on the rally. This was after a close battle with Ollie Mellors & Craig Parry (Satria Millington) saw them retire after stage 7. Alex Allingham & Chris Williams (Impreza) completed the podium and sealed the group N title also.

In the Silver Star Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) had to win to take the title, giving Robinson back to back titles. He did just that finishing a superb 4th overall in the process. Dylan Davies & Mark Glennerster (Escort MkI) were 40 seconds back in 2nd place with Tomas & Eurig Davies (Escort MkII) a fine 3rd after more practice for the end of season RAC rally. Ieuan Rowlands & Emyr Hall (Escort MkII) had lead early on but retired due to mechanical reasons on the 3rd stage.

First to finish and with the 2013 champions sitting out this round, the 1400’s saw David Bennett & Alistair McNeil (Corsa) pushed hard to win by just under a minute, (almost losing at our position approaching a bridge). Dav Evans & Tom Marrott (Nova) took a career best 2nd place with Harry Gardner & Elliot Graham (106) completing the top 3.

%d bloggers like this: