Skip navigation

Daniel McKenna is the inaugural Prodrive-supported BRCLIVE Media Trophy winner following the finalists’ final challenge of the 2013 British Rally Championship season, held at the company’s Oxfordshire HQ.

Jon Armstrong, James Ford, Harry Threlfall, Daniel McKenna, Ben McKay, Steve Røkland and Garry Pearson all started the day in the impressive Prodrive museum, surrounded by cars and images from some of the greatest names in motorsport. Most started the day by sitting in cars like Colin McRae and Richard Burns’ Subarus or the Dani Sordo’s Mini JCW WRC.

After a tour of the facilities, all finalists met the judges and were involved in an open question and answer session with Prodrive’s Business Development Director, Richard Taylor and Head of Engineering David Lapworth. They, along with the judges; Prodrive’s Ben Sayer, The Sun’s Paul Evans, Stagetime Rally Group’s Neil Cloughley and VIPR Media’s Rebecca Prosser were able to give the finalists an insight into just what it takes to be a career rally driver, with some invaluable advice for their 2014 campaign plans.

Each finalist then began one-to-one interviews with the judges and each faced questions about their media and marketing activities for this year and their plans for next year. They all did a superb job, making the judges’ choice extremely difficult, but there was only one driver able to win the test-session drive in a Prodrive Mini JCW S2000.

Daniel McKenna topped an incredible year by scooping the final trophy of the 2013 season by a fraction from his co-finalists. The Irishman set a superb standard in all aspects of his 2013 rally programme, the 2012 Billy Coleman Award winner further proving his credentials.

He said of his year: “At the start of the year, I could never have imagined that we could win the RallyTwo category, Fiesta SportTrophy, the BRCLIVE Media Award and the Pirelli Star Driver Shootout. It’s a dream come true. A lot of hard work and determination has been put in by me, Arthur and the team all year and it has been all worthwhile with the fantastic opportunities we have ahead of us.”

The judges would like to thank all the competitors who entered this year’s competition encouraging them to carry on their marketing and PR development for next year’s championship. Finally thanks must also be given to Prodrive for their hospitality and generous prize.

For more information on the MSA British Rally Championship visit

%d bloggers like this: