Skip navigation

The 2013 MSA British Rally Championship Awards Ceremony, affectionately known as The BRC Bash, scored another resounding success in Manchester at the weekend, honouring winners from the BRC and its support series the NGK Spark Plugs BRC Challenge.

The black tie event was hosted once again by John Horton, familiar to followers of the BRC as the host at the start and finish ceremonies of most of the series’ rallies. He shared the microphone with Championship Manager Mark Taylor, who took the opportunity to thank sponsors, events, marshals and of course competitors for making the 2013 season so successful.

Along with the hard fought overall BRC and NGK BRCC titles won by Finns Jukka Korhonen/Marko Salminen and Russ Thompson/Andy Murphy respectively, came a plethora of class and discretionary awards for the 200-strong audience to applaud.

The BRC’s Rory Galligan Award for Outstanding Performance was presented to Welshman Osian Pryce for his stunning hat-trick of victories after a difficult start to the 2013 season. He and co-driver Dale Furniss were clearly stunned by the accolade, with Pryce giving an emotional thank-you speech dedicated to his family and team.

The BRC Rally of the Year award was first presented in 2003 with the Ulster Rally taking the honours in 2005, 2009, 2010 and 2012. This year the same Todds Leap Rally N.I team had cause for double celebration on Saturday, Clerk of the Course Lewis Boyd accepting the award on behalf of the organisers and hundreds of volunteers for the fifth time on his 50th birthday.

The announcement of the BRC’s 2014 charity, Wings for Life Spinal Cord Research Foundation (WFL), was accompanied by an inspirational talk by WFL ambassador Sean Rose and former BRC driver Ryan Champion, helping to raise nearly £1500 through a generously supported raffle.

Adding a new dimension for the 2013 Bash was singer-songwriter Alistair Griffin. Famed for his Sky Sports F1 title song, Just Drive, as well as closing credit sequence for Wimbledon and the British Open, his performance of three songs captivated the audience.

Several of the crews had an early night after the awards ceremony closed, heading off to Wales Rally GB as part of their Road to Wales prizes of free entries to this weekend’s final round of the World Rally Championship – best of luck to all taking part.

For more information on the MSA British Rally Championship visit

%d bloggers like this: