Skip navigation

The MSA British Rally Championship formally unveiled its plans for 2014 at the Competitors Open Day at Curborough Sprint Circuit last Friday, attending teams’ drivers including Mark Higgins, Jonny Milner and Elfyn Evans demonstrating cars on the short asphalt track.

Championship Manager Mark Taylor briefed those attending on the 2014 structure supporting new and junior competitors entering the series for the first time, highlighting a joint prize pot of over £10,000. He also announced the creation of the Constructors’ Commission, which amongst other objectives, has been set-up to broaden the appeal of the sport. The result of recent meetings of the Commission has created the opportunity for some new and exciting cars to run at the head of the rallies in 2014.

The Pirelli Star Driver is to change in 2014, with nominees coming from Championship category winners rather than the traditional on-event selection and the successful Road to Wales initiative was also confirmed to continue. Final details of both initiatives are due to be unveiled at the Autosport Show in January.

Manufacturers continue to support the BRC; Renault confirmed that the Twingo Renaultsport R1 Trophy UK prize in BRC3 will provide the winner with a fully funded drive in an R2 car on Rallye Du Var in November 2014. Abarth UK were in attendance promoting their intention to enter the BRC5 category with a one make series and BRC1 with their R3T 500. M-Sport demonstrated the high revving R200 and their BRC3 spec Fiestas.

Championship Manager Mark Taylor said, “Recent performances by our competitors on Wales Rally GB reinforces the BRC’s pre-eminent position as a Championship that is developing real talent, and as a result, the BRC is running at the head of the events in 2014.

“Amalgamating the Challenge and allowing non homologated cars in the Championship provides competitor choice, opportunity and progression for those with either ambition or some who just want to enter classic rallies, have fun and take part alongside some of the fastest drivers of their generation.”

For more information on the MSA British Rally Championship visit

%d bloggers like this: