Skip navigation

SONY DSCA wet and blustery day may well have been an understatement for this event, as a record number of Historic rally cars took to the UK forests for the Mid Wales Stages. It was Nick Elliott & Dave Price (Escort MkII) who backed off on the final stage to secure victory and not a repeat of the Red Kite Stages. They had just under half a minute in hand and only lost 10 seconds through the final test to 2nd place Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII). Completing the podium and showing rapid progress from road rallying to the special stage were Meirion Evans & Iwan Jones (Escort MkII) just over 40 seconds behind Robinson.

In category 2 David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) took the spoils from Stanley Orr & Brian Cairns (Escort MkI) with Simon Tysoe & Cliffy Simmons completing an all Escort MkI podium. Meanwhile in category 1 it was another impressive display from Ray Cunningham & Gary McElhinney (Mini) who took victory by over half a minute. Gwilym Roberts & Dom James (Lotus Cortina) were 2nd just over ten seconds ahead of Graham Waite & Gill Cotton (Amazon).

Courtesy of the West Wales RAC Rally Championship there are two further categories that need to be covered. In the FIA category Darren Moon & Alan Walker (Escort MkII) were comfortable winners over 5 minutes ahead of the only other finishers Tom Coughtrie & Calvin Cooledge (Escort MkII). In the open category Simon & Alister Crook took the win in their Opel Manta. Layton Waters & Kevin Bowcott (Starlet) were 2nd with Geraint Davies & Chris Williams (205 GTi) completing the podium.

In the modern rally, which only ran over the first 4 stages, saw a convincing victory for Alex Allingham & Chris Williams (Impreza). 28 seconds back in 2nd place were Daniel Humphreys & Ian Pryce (Evo IX) and just over half a minute further back were Paul Davy & Roger Allan (Impreza). In 8th overall and top 2WD crew were Gary Thomas & Will Parry (Escort MkII)

%d bloggers like this: