Skip navigation

border14 (5)After missing the 2013 edition of the Border Counties it was a pleasure to be back in Kielder again, albeit not as a snowy as last year. It was all about the 3 Ford Focus WRC crews as they filled the podium at the end of the event. David Bogie & Kevin Rae were dominant and went fastest over the opening 4 stages to open up a comfortable margin to ensure victory. Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton had started out better than Stephen Petch & Michael Wilkinson in their newer Focus WRC but by stage 4 they had sneaked ahead by a single second. Petch then went fastest through the final test to secure 2nd place behind Bogie with Thorburn rounding out the top 3, 4 seconds back.

In group N and 6th overall were Andrew Gallacher & Phil Sandham (Evo XI) comfortable winners by almost a minute in the class. Meanwhile in the 2WD battle Steve Bannister & Louise Sutherland lead home an all Escort MkII top 3. They got revenge for the close loss to Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis on the Malcolm Wilson after Robinson put his Escort MkII in a ditch mid event. He fought back superbly to clinch second on the final stage knocking Andrew Kelly & Roger Herron back to 3rd in the process.

%d bloggers like this: