Skip navigation

SONY DSCIt proved to be a day to remember for Toyota and Porsche but a nightmare for Audi, as the 2014 World Endurance Championship got going at Silverstone. With the three marques split equally across the first 3 rows and only 0.452s apart in qualifying, close racing was expected. Toyota pushed through to an early 1-2 before Audi fought back with Lucas Di Grassi splitting the Toyota’s and then the rain came. Toyota pitted, Audi did not and Porsche split their strategy but it was the no.1 car of Di Grassi that fell foul of the conditions, crashing at Woodcote. Whilst the car returned to the pits under its own power the monocoque was damaged and the car duly retired. The no.14 Porsche lost a front left wheel and after extensive repairs it only managed a few more laps before it was retired.

Toyota had made the right move and with the no.8 car leading the no.7 car they now held a margin over the no.20 Porsche with the no.2 Audi down the field having been caught out on slicks on a a wet track. As the race continued and fuel strategy came into play the no.20 Porsche briefly took 2nd place but ultimately Toyota had the fastest car and made the right tactical decisions throughout. With the no.2 Audi caught out in damp conditions half way through the race the 2013 World Champions were out of the race. A safety car brought the no.8 and no.7 Toyota’s close again with the no.20 Porsche a lap down but that is how it stayed and when the deluge hit Silverstone in the final hour of the race it came as no surprise that the race was red flagged for the remaining 20 crews who were still running.

So in LMP1 it was victory for Anthony Davidson, Nicolas Lapierre & Sebastien Buemi in the no.8 Toyota TS 040 Hybrid from the sister no.7 car of Alexander Wurz, Stephane Sarrazin & Kazuki Nakajima with the no.20 Porsche 919 Hybrid of Timo Bernhard, Mark Webber & Brendon Hartley completing the podium. The LMP2 class was won by the no.26 Morgan – Nissan of Roman Rusinov, Olivier Pla & Julien Canal, with GT Pro going the way of the no.92 Porsche 911 RSR of Marco Holzer, Frederic Makowiecki & Richard Lietz and GT Am going to the way of Kristian Poulsen, David Heinemeir-Hannson & Nicki Thiim in the no.98 Aston Martin Vantage V8.

%d bloggers like this: