Skip navigation

After the disappointment of retirement last year, Carnforth teenager Arron Newby cemented his growing reputation as one of the country’s brightest prospects with a brilliant performance on this weekend’s Manx National Rally to win the 2014 Eurocars Motorsport Manx Rally Championship class and in doing so, claimed a superb fifth place overall in the REIS MSA Asphalt Rally Championship event.newby0002

Along with local Kirk Michael co driver Rob Fagg, the reigning Manx Rally Champions continued their title defence and were up against some of the country’s leading drivers but their event didn’t get off to the best of starts.

Friday evening saw the Beatsons Building Supplies and VP Fuels/Pirelli-backed TEG Sport Subaru pair not only have to cope with the ever changing conditions, but a time consuming stall relegated them down the order on the opening stage.

The TEG Sport team checked the car over and soon the 19-year-old was back in the groove to arrive back at the Douglas overnight halt in a brilliant seventh overall despite the treacherous conditions and the best quality field assembled in many years.

Saturday dawned in similar fashion and with tyre choice again a lottery, Newby showed his maturity by holding station on the opening couple of stages before pushing on as the rally progressed. With the experience gained by becoming the youngest ever winner of last year’s Manx International Rally, and fully confident with the Pirelli tyre options available, Arron attacked the final few stages, setting an amazing third fastest overall on the penultimate test and courtesy of another top six time on the final run down the Baldwins stage, he arrived back at the finish in a brilliant fifth place overall.

After 130 stage miles in the most challenging conditions and with a host of World Rally Cars around them, the result cemented their place at the head of the 2014 Eurocars Motorsport Manx Rally Championship with maximum points going into round three, the Dave Corris Autos Forest Stages on July 19th.

2014-05-09_034Arron Newby:  “After a big push on the last two stages, we managed to win the second round of the Manx championship and with it, finished fifth overall on the Manx National Rally. Nerves got the better of me on Friday night and with a stall on SS1 I was on the back foot from the start. It was a difficult rally as I wanted to show my pace amongst the big guns but at the same time I had a championship to think about so a finish was a priority. The Pirelli N3s once again proved to be the tyre for the event and stood up to both dry and wet conditions. I’m over moon to get my second maximum points score as it’s been a real tricky event with the typical Manx weather. A massive thank you to Rob Fagg who did a fantastic job on the notes and for keeping me calm in the wet and slippery conditions, not forgetting Kelly for the accommodation too. Thanks to TEG Sport as always who supplied me a brilliant car all weekend and of course thanks to Pirelli, VP Racing Fuels, Beatsons Building Supplies, Ravenol and the rest of my sponsors.”

Stuart Newby, TEG Sport Team Owner:  “A fantastic result after 130 stage miles of narrow roads and constantly changing weather which always made tyre choice a difficult decision so at times it was a case of not getting caught out and using your head to drive to the conditions which is exactly what Arron did. He’s really impressed me over the weekend and showed once again his maturity of pacing himself to the finish. We came here for maximum points in the Manx championship and that’s what we got, the fifth place overall against such a strong field with only effectively WRCs in front was a huge bonus. Thanks to the sponsors and the team, we couldn’t do this without you.”

Official Results (after SS14)
1 Jason Pritchard/Phil Clarke   Ford Focus WRC    1:54:29.9
2 Oliver Mellors/Ian Windress   Proton Millington Satria  1:55:12.6
3 Stephen Simpson/Patrick Walsh  Subaru Impreza WRC   1:55:35.7
4 John Stone/Carl Williamson   Skoda Fabia WRC   1:57:41.6
5 Arron Newby/Rob Fagg   Subaru Impreza   1:57:48.7
6 Daniel McKenna/Arthur Kierans  Ford Escort Mk 2   1:57:50.5
7 Steve Colley/Andrew Cowley   Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9   1:57:55.6
8 Connor Corkill/Dale Furniss   Subaru Impreza   1:59:27.2
9 Quintin Milne/Martin Forrest   Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9   2:01:54.7
10 Nigel Cannell/Graham Fargher  Mitsubishi Evo 9   2:01:56.0

Pictures attached: Arron Newby and Rob Fagg in action on the Manx National Rally (pictures courtesy of Dave Kneen/ and Mark Corlett)

%d bloggers like this: