Skip navigation

plains14 (3)Barely a cloud in the sky and glorious sunshine bathed North Mid Wales for the Plains Rally. At the top of the time sheets and winners for the 2nd year in a row were Euan Thorburn & Paul Beaton (Focus WRC). The expected pressure from David Bogie & Kevin Rae (Focus WRC) along with Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) never really materialised as Bogie suffered multiple punctures in the 2nd half of the rally and retired whilst Perez appeared to have drive issues as he crabbed past us half a minute down, on the penultimate stage. Instead it was a superb drive from Dave Weston & Dave Robson (Impreza WRC) which kept Thorburn honest, just 8 seconds ahead along with Stephen Petch & Ian Windress (Focus WRC) who were only another 11 seconds back.

In the 2WD battle the top 4 seeds ended up less than a minute apart and in start order. So it was Ieuan Rowlands & Emyr Hall (Escort MkII) who made use of their extra horsepower over the Historic specification Escort MkII’s immediately behind them. Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis were just 27 seconds behind with Nick Elliott & Dave Price a further 9 seconds back to complete the podium.

Over in the 1400’s it was a rally of attrition as from the top 10 cars only 4 finished the event. Mat Smith & Giles Dykes (Ka) took victory by over two minutes from Arwyn Lloyd Davies & Aled Edwards (Nova) with over a minute further back Wayne & Huw Lewis (Nova) making a mockery of being seeded car 23. In Rally First Rory Jones & Tom Hughes (ZR) took top honours.


%d bloggers like this: