Skip navigation

nickygrist14 (12)A return to UK rallying for us after 6 weeks away and we witnessed a superb battle between Paul Bird & Aled Davies (Focus WRC) and Dave Weston jnr & Kirsty Riddick (Impreza WRC). Steve Perez & Paul Spooner (Focus WRC) and Weston were joint fastest through stage 1 before Weston took the lead on stage 2 despite Bird going fastest. Weston took stage 3 before Perez & Bird tied on stage 4 leaving Weston ahead by 5 seconds from Bird and a further 6 to Perez. Bird & Perez tied once more on stage 5 before a fastest time for Bird on stage 6 saw him take the lead by two seconds ahead of Weston. Weston took stage 7 by a single second before Bird sealed the win with fastest time on the final stage by 3 seconds. Perez ended up 3rd a further 16 seconds behind Weston.

In the 2WD part of the rally Matthew Robinson & Sam Collis (Escort MkII) were dominant and took victory by 45 seconds from local experts Terry Brown & Den Golding (Escort MkII). A further 21 seconds back were Seamus O’Connell & Elgan Davies (Escort MkII). The 1400 field was decimated and it was Justin Lawson & Paul Hargreaves (Nova) took the victory by a comfortable margin. Almost a minute back were Dan Gray & Matt Rogers (106) with over a minute back to third placed Mick Smith & Tom Jordan (Micra). Rally First was won by Joe Evett & Calvin Houldsworth (ZR).

%d bloggers like this: