Skip navigation

harryflatters14 (62)The first of two summer events on the Epynt military ranges saw a frustrating day for the top two crews as they beat the bogey time on 7 of the 13 stages, so it was all decided on the 6 shorter stages. Damian Cole & Jack Morton (Focus WRC) ultimately won by 2 seconds and in no small part this all came down to the 4 seconds they took out of Mark Straker & Neil Harrison (Darrian T90 GTR) on the opening stage. Straker made up 3 seconds on stages 4 & 5 before dropping a second on the 8th stage and after that both he and Cole were deadlocked as they matched each other to the second or took the bogey times. Completing the podium, after a late call to start in place of Mark Worley, were Melvyn Evans & David Gamblin (Fiesta R5+) who were on the limiter for so much on the stages.

In the Historic event Tomos Davies & Mark Crisp (Escort MkII) took the lead on the opening stage and through the opening loop and kept it until the end of the rally. Kevin Davies & Dale Bowen (Escort MkII) were closing in and just 5 seconds behind coming in to stage 9 before they failed to complete that stage, so it was David Stokes & Guy Weaver (Escort MkI) were over a minute back in 2nd place. Simon Tysoe & Cliffy Simmons (Escort MkI) completed the podium just over 40 seconds further back.

%d bloggers like this: